Seamless connection of S3-capable backup solutions to object storage

S3 Object Storage

Share this post with your network.

Today, no company can avoid backing up its corporate data. Due to growing data volumes and increasing compliance requirements, backup solutions need to be rethought and sustainably optimized. With the S3 standard, you can integrate your existing backup solution into object storage and gain flexibility, security and geo-redundancy - smart with Netstream's cloud services....

The amount of data in companies is increasing rapidly these days. A secure backup solution is not only recommended, but absolutely necessary. Common file management systems such as Acornis, Veeam, Commvault, Bacula, Rubrik, Altar, Barracuda, etc. ensure that data is backed up to the first level of the backup infrastructure. Such backup & recovery solutions have proven their worth especially in terms of regular data backup and fast recovery. But what happens to older data that is no longer needed immediately, but still needs to be backed up? How practical would it be if data could be outsourced to a second level of the backup infrastructure - where it could be stored in a storage- and cost-efficient as well as geo-redundant manner.

Native Object Storage Integration thanks to S3

This is where Netstream's Object Storage comes in. Thanks to native object storage integration for S3-compatible service providers, a wide variety of backup environments can be seamlessly connected to object storage. This reduces your backup storage costs, gives you more flexibility, and stores your data in a geo-redundant manner - regardless of your existing backup infrastructure. Object Storage can also make an important and legally compliant contribution to long-term archiving (LTA), which is mandatory in many industries, and ensures the long-term availability of information.

S3 standard from AWS

S3 emerged from AWS 's storage offering and has become the standard for storage interfaces in recent years. S3 is based on HTTP(S) to address the requirements of a geographically distributed infrastructure. Due to the high penetration of the S3 protocol, a wide range of backup solutions can be integrated. This means that you do not need to change your existing backup infrastructure, but can simply extend it.

Advantages of this solution scenario:

  • Relieve the load on your local backup infrastructure and thus increase availability.
  • Stay flexible with high compatibility.
  • With Cloudian as a partner, we guarantee seamless integration with existing services.
  • Store your sensitive data with a secure and simple HTTPS connection.
  • Reduce your IT costs by connecting object storage.
  • Benefit from unlimited scalability with native object storage.
  • Thanks to geo-redundancy, your sensitive data is doubly protected.
  • Also protect yourself from ransomware attacks.

Register now for our next webinar on the topic.

Subscribe to our newsletter.

Don't miss an update.

More from our blog

nello

Say hello to nello - again

Our popular Swiss TV platform nello is coming back! A good 18 years ago, we launched adsl.tv, the first streaming portal for real-time TV

Search this page...

pexels-mike-1181809

An der Sicherung der Firmendaten kommt heute kein Unternehmen mehr vorbei. Durch wachsendes Datenvolumen und steigende Compliance-Anforderungen müssen Backup-Lösungen überdacht und nachhaltig optimiert werden. Durch den S3-Standard integrieren Sie Ihre bestehende Backup-Lösung in den Object Storage und gewinnen so an Flexibilität, Sicherheit und Georedundanz – smart mit den Cloud Services von Netstream..

Die Datenmenge in Unternehmen steigt heutzutage rapide an. Hierbei ist eine sichere Backup-Lösung nicht nur empfehlenswert, sondern unbedingt nötig. Gängige Dateimanagement-Systeme wie Acornis, Veeam, Commvault, Bacula, Rubrik, Altar, Barracuda, usw. sorgen für die Sicherstellung der Daten in die erste Stufe der Backup-Infrastruktur. Solche Backup- & Wiederherstellungslösungen haben sich gerade in Hinsicht auf die regelmässige Datensicherung und schnelle Wiederherstellung bewährt. Doch was geschieht mit älteren Daten, die nicht mehr sofort benötigt, doch trotzdem gesichert werden müssen? Wie praktisch wäre es, wenn Daten in eine zweite Stufe der Backup-Infrastruktur ausgelagert werden könnten – wo sie speicher- und kosteneffizient wie auch georedundant gespeichert werden könnten.

Native Object Storage Integration dank S3

An dieser Stelle setzt der Object Storage von Netstream ein. Dank der nativen Objektspeicher Integration für S3-kompatible Serviceprovider können verschiedenste Backup-Umgebungen mit dem Object Storage nahtlos verbunden werden. Dadurch reduzieren Sie Ihre Backup-Storage Kosten, erhalten mehr Flexibilität und speichern Ihre Daten georedundant – unabhängig von Ihrer bisherigen Backup-Infrastruktur. Auch im Hinblick auf die Langzeitarchivierung (LZA), die in vielen Branchen Pflicht ist, kann der Object Storage einen wichtigen und gesetzeskonformen Beitrag leisten und stellt die dauerhafte Verfügbarkeit der Informationen sicher.

S3-Standard von AWS

S3 geht aus dem Storage-Angebot von AWS hervor und mauserte sich in den vergangenen Jahren zum Standard für Storage-Schnittstellen. S3 basiert auf HTTP(S), um die Anforderungen einer geografisch verteilten Infrastruktur zu berücksichtigen. Durch die hohe Verbreitung des S3-Protokolls können eine Vielzahl an Backup-Lösungen eingebunden werden. So brauchen Sie Ihre bisherige Backup-Infrastruktur nicht zu verändern, sondern können diese einfach erweitern.

Vorteile dieses Lösungsszenarios:

  • Entlasten Sie Ihre lokale Backup-Infrastruktur und erhöhen Sie damit die Verfügbarkeit.
  • Bleiben Sie flexibel durch die hohe Kompatibilität.
  • Mit Cloudian als Partner garantieren wir eine nahtlose Integration in bestehende Services.
  • Speichern Sie Ihre sensiblen Daten mit einer sicheren und einfache HTTPS Verbindung.
  • Senken Sie mit der Anbindung des Object Storage Ihre IT-Kosten.
  • Profitieren Sie mit nativem Object Storage von unbegrenzter Skalierbarkeit.
  • Dank Georedundanz sind Ihre sensiblen Daten doppelt geschützt.
  • Schützen Sie sich auch vor Ransomware-Attacken.

Jetzt für unser nächstes Webinar zum Thema anmelden.