Seamless connection to Archive Storage via S3

Archive Storage

Share this post with your network.

Today, no company can avoid backing up its corporate data. Due to growing data volumes and increasing compliance requirements, backup solutions must be reconsidered and sustainably optimized. The S3 standard allows you to integrate your existing backup solution into the archive storage and thus gain flexibility, security and geo-redundancy at low cost.

The amount of data in companies is increasing rapidly these days. A secure backup solution is not only recommended, but absolutely necessary. Common file management systems such as Acronis, Veeam, Commvault, Rubrik, Dell EMC, Barracuda, etc. or common NAS storage ensure that data is backed up to the first level of the backup infrastructure. Such backup & recovery solutions have proven their worth especially in terms of regular data backup and fast recovery. However, a backup alone is no longer sufficient today.

Native integration thanks to S3

This is where Archive Storage comes in. Thanks to native integration for S3-compatible service providers, a wide variety of backup environments can be connected seamlessly. Certain backup systems even use their own direct interface. This reduces your backup storage costs, gives you more flexibility and stores your data in a geo-redundant manner - regardless of your existing backup infrastructure. With regard to long-term archiving (LTA), which is mandatory in many industries, archive storage can also make an important and legally compliant contribution and ensures the permanent availability of information.

S3 standard from AWS

S3 emerged from AWS 's storage offering and has become the standard for storage interfaces in recent years. S3 is based on HTTP(S) to address the requirements of a geographically distributed infrastructure. Due to the high penetration of the S3 protocol, a wide range of backup solutions can be integrated. This means that you do not need to change your existing backup infrastructure, but can simply extend it.

Advantages of this solution scenario:

  • Relieve the load on your local backup infrastructure and thus increase availability
  • Stay flexible due to the high compatibility
  • Seamless integration with existing services
  • Store your sensitive data with a secure and simple HTTPS connection
  • Reduce your IT costs with connectivity
  • Benefit from unlimited scalability.
  • Thanks to geo-redundancy, your sensitive data is doubly protected.
  • Also protect yourself from ransomware attacks by outsourcing further.

Subscribe to our newsletter.

Don't miss an update.

More from our blog

nello

Say hello to nello - again

Our popular Swiss TV platform nello is coming back! A good 18 years ago, we launched adsl.tv, the first streaming portal for real-time TV

Search this page...

pexels-mike-1181809

Nahtlose Anbindung an Archive Storage via S3

Archive Storage

Teilen Sie diesen Post mit Ihrem Netzwerk.

An der Sicherung der Firmendaten kommt heute kein Unternehmen mehr vorbei. Durch wachsendes Datenvolumen und steigende Compliance-Anforderungen müssen Backup-Lösungen überdacht und nachhaltig optimiert werden. Durch den S3-Standard integrieren Sie Ihre bestehende Backup-Lösung in den Archive Storage und gewinnen so kostengünstig an Flexibilität, Sicherheit und Georedundanz.

Die Datenmenge in Unternehmen steigt heutzutage rapide an. Hierbei ist eine sichere Backup-Lösung nicht nur empfehlenswert, sondern unbedingt nötig. Gängige Dateimanagement-Systeme wie Acronis, Veeam, Commvault, Rubrik, Dell EMC, Barracuda, usw. oder gängige NAS-Speicher sorgen für die Sicherstellung der Daten in die erste Stufe der Backup-Infrastruktur. Solche Backup- & Wiederherstellungslösungen haben sich gerade in Hinsicht auf die regelmässige Datensicherung und schnelle Wiederherstellung bewährt. Doch ein Backup alleine reicht heute nicht mehr aus.

Native Integration dank S3

An dieser Stelle setzt der Archive Storage ein. Dank der nativen Integration für S3-kompatible Serviceprovider können verschiedenste Backup-Umgebungen nahtlos verbunden werden. Gewisse Backup-Systeme verwenden sogar eine eigene, direkte Schnittstelle. Dadurch reduzieren Sie Ihre Backup-Storage Kosten, erhalten mehr Flexibilität und speichern Ihre Daten georedundant – unabhängig von Ihrer bisherigen Backup-Infrastruktur. Auch im Hinblick auf die Langzeitarchivierung (LZA), die in vielen Branchen Pflicht ist, kann der Archive Storage einen wichtigen und gesetzeskonformen Beitrag leisten und stellt die dauerhafte Verfügbarkeit der Informationen sicher.

S3-Standard von AWS

S3 geht aus dem Storage-Angebot von AWS hervor und mauserte sich in den vergangenen Jahren zum Standard für Storage-Schnittstellen. S3 basiert auf HTTP(S), um die Anforderungen einer geografisch verteilten Infrastruktur zu berücksichtigen. Durch die hohe Verbreitung des S3-Protokolls können eine Vielzahl an Backup-Lösungen eingebunden werden. So brauchen Sie Ihre bisherige Backup-Infrastruktur nicht zu verändern, sondern können diese einfach erweitern.

Vorteile dieses Lösungsszenarios:

  • Entlasten Sie Ihre lokale Backup-Infrastruktur und erhöhen Sie damit die Verfügbarkeit
  • Bleiben Sie flexibel durch die hohe Kompatibilität
  • Nahtlose Integration in bestehende Services
  • Speichern Sie Ihre sensiblen Daten mit einer sicheren und einfache HTTPS Verbindung
  • Senken Sie mit der Anbindung Ihre IT-Kosten
  • Profitieren von unbegrenzter Skalierbarkeit.
  • Dank Georedundanz sind Ihre sensiblen Daten doppelt geschützt.
  • Schützen Sie sich auch vor Ransomware-Attacken durch eine weitere Auslagerung.

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter.

Verpassen Sie kein Update.

Mehr aus unserem Blog

Seite durchsuchen...

pexels-mike-1181809