Secure your backup data against ransomware

Secure Backup

Share this post with your network.

The digital extortion market is booming. So-called encryption Trojans (ransomware) are a popular means of rendering companies' documents unusable and then extorting money. Often, the only option left for companies in such a case is to give in to the extortionists. But this does not have to be the case! 

Imagine sitting at work and no longer being able to access your data. This thought alone makes your blood run cold. But what happens next is like a movie. You receive a message and are asked by anonymous extortionists to pay a ransom in order to access your data again. Because only if you pay will you receive the key to render the unnoticed encryption Trojan (ransomware) harmless. It is not uncommon for companies to have no choice but to comply with the demand. But why many companies simply pay is due in particular to the fact that the time required for a complete restore of a backup can often take several days or, in the worst case, the backup is also affected by the ransomware. Another major concern for companies is that the extortionists not only threaten to destroy the data, but also to publish it on the Internet.  

Secure backup architecture gives ransomware no chance 

Netstream AG relies on the secure rubric architecture when it comes to backup. Of course, it must be possible to restore data in the event of a disaster, but the ransomware should be prevented from accessing your files and causing damage right from the start.  

Unlike traditional backup architecture, no external client has read or write access to your backup data. With traditional architectures, Trojans have an easier time accessing your files.  

Before data can be played back to production, Rubrik also ensures that it has not been modified beforehand. This way, you can be sure that no damaged or modified files can cause damage again on your production. The "instant recovery" approach also allows files to be made available directly on the Rubrik appliance. This makes it easy to restore even large amounts of data.  

Advantages of this solution scenario: 

Secure your backup files simply and easily with Rubrik Ransomware Protection. 

  • Prevent external software from accessing your backup data. 
  • Easily set replication and rules for your regular backup yourself. 
  • Restore even large amounts of data directly to the appliance using "Instant Recovery". 
  • Flexible scaling (or also reduction) 
  • Company-owned high-security Swiss data center  

Webinar

Learn more about protecting your backup data in our webinar: Ransomware Backup Protection.

Subscribe to our newsletter.

Don't miss an update.

More from our blog

nello

Say hello to nello - again

Our popular Swiss TV platform nello is coming back! A good 18 years ago, we launched adsl.tv, the first streaming portal for real-time TV

Search this page...

pexels-mike-1181809

Der digitale Erpressermarkt boomt. Sogenannte Verschlüsselungstrojaner (Ransomware) sind ein beliebtes Mittel, um Dokumente von Firmen unbrauchbar zu machen und dann Geld zu erpressen. Oft bleibt Unternehmen in einem solchen Fall nur noch die Möglichkeit den Erpressern nachzugeben. Doch das muss nicht sein! 

Stellen Sie sich vor, Sie sitzen bei der Arbeit und können nicht mehr auf Ihre Daten zugreifen. Bereits dieser Gedanke lässt einem das Blut in den Adern gefrieren. Doch was danach geschieht, gleicht einem Kinofilm. Sie erhalten eine Nachricht und werden von anonymen Erpressern aufgefordert Lösegeld zu bezahlen, um wieder auf Ihre Daten zugreifen zu können. Denn nur wenn Sie bezahlen, erhalten Sie den Schlüssel, um den unbemerkt eingespeisten Verschlüsselungstrojaner (Ransomware) unschädlich zu machen. Nicht selten bleibt Unternehmen nichts anderes übrig, als der Forderung nachzukommen. Doch wieso viele Unternehmen einfach bezahlen, liegt insbesondere darin, dass die Zeit für einen kompletten Restore eines Backups oft mehrere Tage dauern kann oder im schlimmsten Fall auch das Backup von der Ransomware betroffen ist. Eine grosse Sorge der Unternehmen besteht auch darin, dass die Erpresser nicht nur damit drohen die Daten zu zerstören, sondern auch diese im Netz zu veröffentlichen.  

Durch sichere Backup-Architektur lassen Sie Ransomware keine Chance 

Die Netstream AG verlässt sich in Sachen Backup auf die sichere Rubrik-Architektur. Denn natürlich muss ein Restore der Daten im Disasterfall möglich sein, jedoch sollte die Ransomware bereits am Ansatz daran gehindert werden auf Ihre Dateien zugreifen und somit Schaden anrichten zu können.  

Im Gegensatz zur traditionellen Backup-Architektur hat kein externer Client Lese- oder Schreibzugriff auf Ihre Backupdaten. Bei herkömmlichen Architekturen haben somit Trojaner ein einfacheres Spiel an Ihre Dateien zu gelangen.  

Bevor Daten zurück auf die Produktion gespielt werden können, stellt Rubrik zudem sicher, dass diese davor nicht verändert wurden. So können Sie sicher sein, dass keine beschädigten oder veränderten Dateien erneut auf Ihrer Produktion Schaden anrichten können. Durch den «Instant Recovery»-Ansatz können zudem Dateien direkt auf der Rubrik Appliance zur Verfügung gestellt werden. So sind auch grosse Datenmengen einfach zu restoren.  

Vorteile dieses Lösungsszenarios: 

Sichern Sie Ihre Backupdateien einfach und unkompliziert mit Rubrik Ransomware Protection. 

  • Verhindern Sie den Zugriff auf Ihre Backupdaten durch externe Software. 
  • Stellen Sie Replikation und Regelungen für Ihr regelmässiges Backup ganz einfach selbst ein. 
  • Stellen Sie mit Hilfe von «Instant Recovery» auch grosse Datenmengen direkt auf der Appliance wieder her. 
  • Flexible Skalierung (oder auch Reduzierung) 
  • Firmeneigenes hochsicheres Schweizer Data Center  

Webinar

Lernen Sie mehr über den Schutz Ihrer Backupdaten in unserem Webinar: Ransomware Backup Protection.