Netstream

Easy migration of old VMware vSphere 6.0/6.5/6.7 environments

Vmware Update

Share this post with your network.

Despite numerous security vulnerabilities and the increasing cases of ransomware attacks, many on-premises VMware vSphere environments are at an outdated software state with version 6.7, 6.5 or even 6.0. This is despite the fact that there is a simple and painless solution to migrate here.

VMware already declared version 6.0 "end of support" on March 12, 2020. In just a few weeks (October 15, 2022), even versions 6.7 & 6.5 will also be set to "end of support". This is now putting many companies on the spot, as they run the risk of being stuck on non-supported versions. What many do not know yet, there is a simple solution.

The pitfalls of an update

The actual update to a newer version is usually unproblematic. The real pitfalls become apparent in the dependencies on third-party manufacturers, drivers or other integrations. In old environments, the hardware on which vSphere is installed has often reached the end of its life cycle. Therefore, simple upgrades often end up in large, time-consuming and tedious projects.

Additionally, such upgrades are difficult to plan for, as companies would rather focus their resources on their core business and value creation rather than hardware replacement and VMware upgrades.

Easy migration thanks to Netstream Workload Availability Service

With Netstream Workload Availability Service (NWAS), which is based on VMware Cloud Director Availability, you migrate to the Netstream Cloud easily, securely and especially faster. Additionally, migrations of old versions 6.0/6.5/6.7 to the current versions are supported.

With Netstream, you can upgrade to the latest VMware version and migrate your entire infrastructure to the cloud right away!

Using the Netstream Workload Availability Service (NWAS) and a layer 2 tunnel between the on-prem infrastructure and the Netstream cloud infrastructure, workloads can be easily moved. In this way, a seamless migration is possible. The workloads can be used hybrid during the migration - on the old on-prem infrastructure, the cloud or the edge cloud.

Less effort and still more cloud thanks to the Edge Cloud Service

Do you want to continue to run your data in your own data center, but minimize the effort, reduce the costs, and at the same time be less dependent on required skilled workers? Use Netstream's Edge Cloud Service and get a fully managed cloud environment on-premises at your location.

Subscribe to our newsletter.

Don't miss an update.

More from our blog

Search this page...

pexels-mike-1181809
50%

Archive Storage

Secure Cloud Storage Now!

Netstream

Einfache Migration alter VMware vSphere 6.0/6.5/6.7 Umgebungen

Vmware Update

Teilen Sie diesen Post mit Ihrem Netzwerk.

Trotz zahlreicher Sicherheitslücken und den steigenden Fällen von Ransomware Angriffen, sind viele on-premises VMware vSphere Umgebungen mit Version 6.7, 6.5 oder gar 6.0 auf einem veralteten Software-Stand. Dies, obwohl es hier eine einfache und schmerzfreie Lösung gibt, zu migrieren.

VMware deklarierte die Version 6.0 bereits am 12. März 2020 mit «end of support». In nur wenigen Wochen (15. Oktober 2022) werden sogar die Versionen 6.7 & 6.5 ebenfalls «end of support» gesetzt. Dies bringt nun viele Unternehmen unter Zugzwang, da sie Gefahr laufen auf nicht-supporteten Versionen festzuhängen. Was viele noch nicht wissen, hier gibt es eine einfache Lösung.

Die Tücken eines Updates

Das eigentliche Update auf eine neuere Version selbst verläuft meist unproblematisch. Die eigentlichen Tücken zeigen sich vielmehr bei den Abhängigkeiten zu Drittherstellern, Treibern oder anderen Integrationen. Bei alten Umgebungen hat auch die Hardware, auf welcher vSphere installiert ist, oft das Ende ihres Lebenszyklus erreicht. Deshalb enden einfache Upgrades nicht selten in grossen, zeitraubenden und mühsamen Projekten.

Zusätzlich sind solche Upgrades schwer einzuplanen, da die Unternehmen ihre Ressourcen lieber auf ihr Kerngeschäft und die Wertschöpfung fokussieren möchten, statt sich um Hardware-Ersatz und VMware-Upgrades zu kümmern.

Einfache Migration dank Netstream Workload Availability Service

Mit Netstream Workload Availability Service (NWAS), welcher auf VMware Cloud Director Availability basiert, migrieren Sie einfach, sicher und insbesondere schneller in die Netstream Cloud. Zusätzlich werden Migrationen alter Versionen 6.0/6.5/6.7 zu den aktuellen Versionen unterstützt.

Mit Netstream können Sie auf die neuste VMware Version upgraden, und gleich Ihre gesamte Infrastruktur in die Cloud migrieren!

Mittels Netstream Workload Availability Service (NWAS) und dem Einsatz eines Layer 2 Tunnels zwischen der on-prem Infrastruktur und der Netstream Cloud Infrastruktur können Workloads einfach verlagert werden. Auf diese Art und Weise ist eine nahtlose Migration möglich. Die Workloads können während der Migration hybrid genutzt werden – auf der alten on-prem Infrastruktur, der Cloud oder der Edge Cloud.

Weniger Aufwand und trotzdem mehr Cloud dank dem Edge Cloud Service

Sie möchten weiterhin Ihre Daten im eigenen Data Center betreiben, jedoch den Aufwand minimieren die Kosten senken und gleichzeitig weniger abhängig von benötigten Fachkräften sein? Nutzen Sie den Edge Cloud Service von Netstream und erhalten Sie eine voll verwaltete Cloud-Umgebung on-premises bei Ihnen vor Ort.

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter.

Verpassen Sie kein Update.

Mehr aus unserem Blog

Seite durchsuchen...

pexels-mike-1181809
50%

Archive Storage

Jetzt Cloud-Speicher sichern!